Washington D.C.

The Lincoln Memorial at sunset

The Lincoln Memorial at sunset

A Flickr friend of mine, Dan Huntley, came into DC for business Saturday and I met up with him downtown to shoot a bit around the mall area. It was an unusually warm day & night for us here in the Mid Atlantic area, so it made for a cool but pleasant evening of shooting.

The above shot was taken as Dan finally arrived by taxi from his hotel. Previously while I was waiting for him I was positioned with my tripod in the reflecting pool to try to get a better composition. This led to many smiles from people passing by…or was it laughter? LOL.

A capture of President Lincoln from the Reflecting Pool. I used my Nikon 70-300 VR mounted on a Benro Travel Angel Tripod to capture this.

A capture of President Lincoln from the Reflecting Pool. I used my Nikon 70-300 VR mounted on a Benro Travel Angel Tripod to capture this.

Dan and I proceeded up to the Lincoln Memorial to get some shots of this magnificent memorial. I know I cannot come to town without stopping by here to shoot some.

This is fro inside the memorial.

This is from inside the memorial.

I was prepared for shooting around here and brought my 50mm and 35mm primes for handheld shooting. Using a tripod around DC, especially the Memorials is usually not tolerated. Though last night there were a ton of tripods around, which makes me wonder if they changed their rules.

A view from the top steps of the Lincoln Memorial looking east down the mall at the Washington Monument.

A view from the top steps of the Lincoln Memorial looking east down the mall at the Washington Monument.

After we shot inside the Lincoln Memorial we turned our attention down the Reflecting Pool. There was quite a bit of haze for this time of year due to the temperatures, but it made for some nice reflective colors as the sun set behind us. I could easily sit here for hours and just look out at the city.

The Us Capitol sitting behind the Washington Monument.

The Us Capitol sitting behind the Washington Monument.

We walked down to the reflecting pool and got a few closer shots of the US Capitol and Washington Monument. The Reflecting Pool makes for some wonderful evening compositions.

A detail shot of the inside of the WW II Memorial taken with my fish-eye lens.

A detail shot of the inside of the WW II Memorial taken with my fish-eye lens.

We made our way to the World War II Memorial, unfortunately they are doing a lot of work on it right now so the fountains were not working. But I did mange a pretty cool shot from inside one of the entrances. This is looking straight up. I tool this with my fish-eye lens.

A shot of the Jefferson Memorial from across the Tidal Basin.

A shot of the Jefferson Memorial from across the Tidal Basin.

We decided that it was getting a bit cool and it was also about time to get something to eat. So we walked to where my car was parked and captured a few shots of the Jefferson Memorial looking across the Tidal Basin before heading to dinner.

We headed up to where Dan was staying, and eventually ended up in Chinatown. Dan treated me to a nice dinner at one of the Chinese restaurants there, “Thanks again Dan”! Dinner was excellent and my belly was stuffed all the way home.

The entrance to China Town.

The entrance to Chinatown with Dan getting a few shots.

When we exited the Chinese restaurant we decided to get a few shots of the entrance to Chinatown. I got a few with Dan in the shots as the cars and buses whizzed by us.

The Chinatown entrance.

The Chinatown entrance.

I captured a quick grab from the middle of street. I had it timed out pretty good with the traffic lights as to not get hit by any cars *smile*.

At this point it was getting near 9pm and I am normally in bed by now, and with a 2 hour trip home I decided that I should be getting going. So I left Dan to do some more shooting without me. But I am sure I will be back down here soon enough to capture some more fun.

I will leave you with one more shot from inside of the Lincoln Memorial. Thanks for reading!

DC-2013_010

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

